The Hungarian Royal Police – Summary


The aim of the first project of this blog was to collect the available information about the Hungarian Royal Police and to build some units for the chosen rule system in World War 2 era. I had been thinking about starting this for a long time and the birth of the blog was one of the main catalyzer (well, I would say the two ideas, the project and the blog, induced each other). As I reached the point, when I think the project is more or less closed, I would like to make a summary page to officially end it, plus to have all the posts, info on one page for easier search.

The very first post of the project (and the second of the blog) was published on 31st May. It is about the brief history of the HRP and the organisations from the beginning until the end of WW2, when the HRP was disbanded.

In the second post I tried to sum up the information about uniforms, weapons and equipment, mostly focusing on the WW2, when the HRP was used in real combat.

The third post deals with the wargaming options: what kind of situations and scenarios, recommending the suitable rule sets too, could be played with Royal Police miniatures starting from the end of the Great War until 1945, including peacetime law enforcement operations too.

The first post about exact vehicles and miniatures was the fourth one, where you can read about the brief history of the 39M Csaba armoured car and how to model and use it within your own army.

The next vehicle support, the Ansaldo in police blue, was the theme of the fifth post, with not just painting instructions but also a unit card, so you can use them in Flames of War V4.

In post number six some HMG support was introduced with the help of Peter Pig’s figures and some converting.

The final, part seven, gives details about how to make the backbone of the army, the rifle platoon. It was posted on 17th December and closed an almost seven months long journey with lots of new information (at least for me), experience on painting urban rubble bases and many hours of joy, which I think the main reason I like this hobby.

When my new gaming table arrives (maybe February) I will try the small army against a suitable opponent in a solo game. Until that I’m thinking on the scenario. Of course I will write some AAR.

If and when I will expand the project (already have some ideas), I will also upgrade this page. Thank you for joining me during the birth and completion of the project, hope you liked it and found useful information or ideas for your own work.

Until then follow my other projects or stand alone posts. See you there!

The sources of the pictures could be find within the posts!

Published by vipimig

A history enthusiastic building and paintig minis

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started